The Working Group for Planetary System Nomenclature wishes to express its appreciation for the efforts of the following people in the development of planetary nomenclature, the print publications of the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature, and the development of the digital database and initial versions of the online Gazetteer.

The late Dr. Peter Millman, of the National Research Council of Canada in Ottawa and first president of the WGPSN (1973-1982), provided the original list of planetary names and carefully reviewed all planetary nomenclature material. The late Dr. Ewen Whitaker, of the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Tucson, Arizona, corrected the lunar list and provided extensive valuable information about lunar feature names and locations. The late Dr. Harold Masursky, of the USGS Astrogeology Science Center and second WGPSN President (1982-1991) aggressively led and managed the planetary nomenclature process. Dr. Jean Duchesne-Guillermin, Liege, Belgium, performed authoritative and careful editing of the 1986 edition of the Gazetteer. We also thank Dr. Audouin Dollfus of the Observatoire de Paris, Dr. A. T. Basilevsky and Dr. George Burba of the Vernadsky Institute, Moscow, and Mr. William Musielak of the University of Arizona, Tucson, for reviews of maps.

Many USGS employees at the Astrogeology Science Center have been responsible for producing the print and online versions of the Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature. Mary Strobell, Joel Russell, and Jennifer Blue coordinated details of the naming process in the 1980s through 2014. They were assisted at various stages by D. L. Applebee, Katherine Beer, Rebecca Birkholst, A. L. Dial, Jr., Elizabeth Dyer, Victoria Lobato, Connie Nordstrom, Jana Ruhlmann and Christine Vargas, who made corrections and additions; by Janet Barrett, Robert Gurule, C. E. Isbell, K. D. Knisely, and Bill Woodsmall, who wrote computer programs to sort and print the files; by R. D. Carroll and Ramon Sabala, who supplied cartographic expertise; by Dennis K. McMacken, Jacob Bailly, Jeff Anderson, Aaron Young, Way Christiansen, Deborah Lee Soltesz, Joseph Burke, Brian Peck, and Jac Shinaman who converted the documents to HTML format and wrote versions of the website; by Tony Rosanova, Lynn Weller, Bonnie Redding, and Tammy Becker who provided image mosaics; by Trent Hare who provided technical advice and innovative ideas; by Rose Hayward who painstakingly measured over 9,000 lunar craters; and by Scott Akins, Mark Bailen, and Ryan Raub who designed and implemented the website version online from 2010 through 2024. Dr. Kenneth Tanaka, Dr. Robert Pappalardo, Dr. Jeffrey Kargel, and Dr. Paul Geissler provided geologic expertise to help define feature boundaries. Robert A. Garfinkle, FRAS provided valuable information to update the origin information for many lunar honorees.